DEL Communications Inc.

More Pubs:

BC Oil and Gas Report

Manitoba Energy Review

Saskatchewan Energy Report

Saskatchewan Energy Directory

 The 23rd World Petroleum Congress program concluded strongly today, with high-level discussions on collaboration within the industry and the changes needed going forward, as well as special events including a discussion of Houston’s role in leading the energy transition, presentation of the Dewhurst Award & Lecture, and the official handover to Calgary, the host city for the 24th World Petroleum Congress in September 2023. 

In the first plenary session of the day: Building Partnerships, Vicki Hollub, president & CEO of Occidental and Olivier Le Peuch, CEO of Schlumberger discussed the key elements that make partnership work. According to Vicki Hollub, CEO of Occidental, these are: “Respect and alignment, trust and transparency with partners, not just to sell a product, but to help achieve goals.” 

Immediately following, Joseph McMonigle, secretary general of the International Energy Forum, and Bjorn Sverdrup, chair of the Executive Committee at OGCI, led the second plenary session Energy Transition: Scenarios for the Future. According to Sverdrup: “Uncomfortable as it is, the industry where change is the most necessary in the future is the oil and gas industry.” He continued, “Oil and gas companies are beginning to see themselves as energy companies. Renewables are driving that.” 

 This was followed by a U.S. luncheon on Houston: Leading the Energy Transition where Bobby Tudor, partner of Perella Weindberg Partners & chairman of Tudor, Pickering, Holt & Co.; David Leebron, president of Rice University; and Juliana Garaizar, head of Houston Incubator and VP of innovation for Greentown Labs, led a lively discussion on how Houston continues to be in the vanguard of innovation in the industry. 

In the afternoon, Dr. Daniel Yergin, Pulitzer-prize winner, leading energy expert and author of The New Map: Energy Climate, and the Clash of Nations, was presented with the World Petroleum Council’s prestigious Dewhurst Award by former U.S. Secretary of State and former CEO of ExxonMobil, Rex Tillerson who received the honor in 2017. 

The Dewhurst Award is presented at every congress to an individual who is well known in the energy community and has demonstrated unusually high achievements over their lifetime. The Award made today celebrates Dr. Yergin’s role as a global authority on energy, international politics, and economics. Dr. Yergin then delivered the Dewhurst Lecture to a packed house of delegates and industry leaders. 

The closing ceremony saw the official handover to the organizing committee for the 24th World Petroleum Congress, which will take place in Calgary, Canada from September 17-21, 2023. Featured presenters included Houston Mayor the Hon. Sylvester Turner and Calgary Mayor the Hon. Jyoti Gondekan, along with World Petroleum Council President Tor Fjaeran and 23rd WPC Organizing Committee Chair Jeff Shellebarger.